How to Restrict or Tie Users to Select Facilities

How to Restrict or Tie Users to Select Facilities

Facility “Enterprise” Security Modification
Introduction:
This article is intended to provide guidance on our newest feature which allows facilities to be able to restrict the data a user has access to, based on the facilities tied to the user.  
Important Notes: 
  1. All users by default will have a blank value in the facility field in the user profile setup screen. which means that they have access to all facilities. This is intentional, as we did not want customers who were not in need of this feature to be forced to modify all of their active users.
  2. Facilities can be assigned to employees in bulk or individually, from both the edit user screen, or the facility screen which now has a users tab when clicked, and allows multiple staff members to be assigned to the facility.

To add a user to a facility from the edit user screen, do the following 

  1. As a system admin, click the “Settings” icon

  2. Click on the “users” menu option

  3. Click on the desired user 

  4. In the facilities field, click on all facilities the user should have access to 

  5. Hit save 


To add users to a facility from the edit facility screen, do the following: 

  1. As a system admin, click the “Settings” icon
  2. Click on the “Facility” menu option
  3. Click on the desired facility
  4. In the users sub-tab, click on a user to add them to the list of permitted users for that facility.  By default, all users in the system will appear in the facility when clicked. 
    1. Updating a user’s assigned facility from the user section of the settings menu will automatically update the corresponding facility-users subtab, making the process easy for administrators to implement at their discretion.
  5. Hit save